
Moody Abdul
The Best AI Therapy Note Tools for Private Practice (2026)

Prices verified August 18, 2026.
The best AI therapy note tools for private practice in 2026 are Klarify, Upheal, Mentalyc, Blueprint, AutoNotes, and Note Designer. For clinicians who want a therapy-first scribe with a free plan to start on, Klarify is the strongest overall choice. It is fully HIPAA, PHIPA, PIPEDA, Quebec Loi 25, and GDPR compliant, stores all data in Canada, and ships a full French interface; the other five publish HIPAA compliance claims of their own.
What Should Therapists Look For in an AI Note Tool?
Start with HIPAA. Klarify is fully HIPAA compliant and signs a BAA on request. The other five tools publish HIPAA compliance claims on their own pages; treat each of those as a starting point rather than a certificate, ask whether the vendor signs a BAA, and check your own documentation and record-keeping obligations, which vary by state and licensing board.
If you practice in Canada, four more criteria separate the tools: whether you can pay in CAD, where your session data physically lives, what the vendor says about PHIPA and Quebec’s Loi 25, and whether the tool works in French. Most roundups skip all four because they were written for an American audience.
CAD pricing. A USD subscription adds exchange-rate drift to every invoice. Only some vendors publish Canadian-dollar prices at all.
Data residency. Where audio, transcripts, and notes are stored shapes your privacy analysis and your consent language. Vendors range from “stored in Canada” to “US-based” to silent.
PHIPA / Loi 25 posture. PHIPA governs personal health information in Ontario, PIPEDA applies federally, and Quebec’s Loi 25 amendments to the private-sector privacy act tightened consent and transparency obligations. A vendor’s compliance badge is a claim, not a certificate. Your college’s record-keeping standard applies on top (CRPO and the OPQ publish different requirements, so check yours).
French support. If you practice in French, or your clients do, a tool that can’t transcribe or draft in French is a non-starter. Most of this market publishes nothing about French at all.
At a Glance: Six Tools Compared
The separators are price shape, free tiers, the Canadian posture, and what each tool does beyond the note itself. Klarify and Upheal are the only two tools with a perpetual free plan, and Klarify alone adds deeper client insights beyond the note and a free hosted public profile that markets your practice. Mentalyc lists the most note formats but stores data in the US. Blueprint is the cheapest for light caseloads, AutoNotes lists the lowest annual price for unlimited notes, and Note Designer is the only option that never records a session.
Tool | Therapy-first | Starting price | HIPAA | PHIPA / PIPEDA | Free tier | Free public profile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Klarify | ✓ | $0; paid from $16 USD/mo (in-page CAD toggle) | ✓ | ✓ / ✓ | ✓ Seed plan, 10 sessions/mo | ✓ Hosted on klarify.ca |
Upheal | ✓ | $1/session (C$1), capped at $69/mo (C$69) | ✓ | ✓ / ✓ | ✓ Perpetual free plan + 30-day trial | ✕ |
Mentalyc | ✓ | $19.99 USD/mo (40 notes) | ✓ | ✓ / ✓ | ✕ 14-day trial, 15 notes | ✕ |
Blueprint | ✓ | $0.99/session (currency unlabelled) | ✓ | ✓ / – | ✕ 5 free sessions | ✕ |
AutoNotes | ✓ | $29/mo, or $8/mo billed annually (currency unlabelled) | ✓ | ✓ / – | ✕ 7-day trial | ✕ |
Note Designer | ✓ (not a scribe) | $15 USD/mo or $150 USD/yr | ✓ | – / ✓ | ✕ 30-day refund window | ✕ |
Klarify’s marks are statements of fact. For the other five, ✓ = published claim on the vendor’s own pages · ~ = partial · ✕ = absent · – = not stated
The Canadian Criteria, Tool by Tool
This section is for readers who practice in Canada; American readers can skim ahead to the tool-by-tool reviews. Klarify clears all four criteria: CAD billing through an in-page currency toggle, all data stored in Canada, full PHIPA, PIPEDA, and Loi 25 compliance, and French support in both the interface and sessions. Upheal bills in C$ and localizes its compliance copy, but publishes no residency location and no French support. Note Designer keeps notes off the cloud entirely, though it is not a scribe.
Tool | CAD pricing | Data residency | PHIPA / Loi 25 posture | French support |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Klarify | ✓ CAD and USD via in-page currency toggle | ✓ All data stored in Canada | ✓ PHIPA + PIPEDA compliant / Loi 25 compliant | ✓ Full French UI + Français (Canada) sessions (plan-gated) |
Upheal | ✓ C$ pricing page (C$1/session, C$69 cap) | Not stated | PHIPA + PIPEDA claimed / Loi 25 not stated | ✕ None published |
Mentalyc | ✕ USD only | “US-based data residency” (their words) | PHIPA, PIPEDA, PIPA, PHIA claimed / Loi 25 not stated | ✕ None published |
Blueprint | ✕ No currency label on pricing | Not stated | PHIPA claimed / Loi 25 not stated | ✕ None published |
AutoNotes | ✕ No currency label on pricing | Not stated | PHIPA claimed / Loi 25 not stated | ✕ None published |
Note Designer | ✕ Priced “In USD” | Local-first: notes stay on your device; AI calls to AWS (region unstated) | PIPEDA claimed; PHIPA not mentioned / Loi 25 not stated | ~ French version linked; scope undocumented |
1. Klarify: Best Overall
Klarify, a Canadian AI assistant for therapists, pairs full HIPAA, PHIPA, PIPEDA, Quebec Loi 25, and GDPR compliance with a free plan and 21 built-in note formats. For Canadian clinicians it is also the only tool in this roundup built around Canadian requirements rather than adapted to them: all data stored in Canada, CAD billing alongside USD, and a complete French interface. The company’s own line is “built and secured in Canada.”
Where it wins: capture breadth. Klarify takes sessions however you work: in-person audio, virtual meeting audio, dictation, handwritten notes, uploaded transcripts (up to 300,000 characters), and uploaded audio files (up to 5 GB), with in-session recordings running up to 3 hours. From any of those it drafts the note in 21 built-in formats (SOAP, DAP, BIRP, EMDR, Gottman, EFT, ACT, group, couple, family, an insurance-friendly format, and more) or a custom template generated from your own past notes; custom templates come with every plan, not just the top tiers. Klarify also goes deeper than the note itself: each session generates structured session context, visual mindmaps of client themes, and reflection prompts for both the client and the clinician, so the tool helps you think about the work between sessions. Klara, a chat assistant, handles session prep, referral letters, and treatment plans. Sessions can run in English, Français (Canada), Spanish, or Italian on plans with multi-language support. Every therapist also gets a free Psychology Today-style public profile hosted on klarify.ca, with built-in marketing features for attracting clients. Nothing else in this roundup helps you fill a caseload.
On privacy, the company’s position is blunt: “Your session data is yours. We never train on it, never sell it, never share it.” Session audio is purged after 14 days, with configurable auto-delete (immediately to 180 days) for audio, transcripts, or whole sessions. All data is stored in Canada, always; transcripts, session context, and generated notes live in AWS’s Canadian region (ca-central-1, Montréal). As one user, Samantha Short (Counsellor, MA, MSEd, RCC), puts it: “Without a doubt the session recording and note taking have saved me countless hours.”
Pricing: a free Seed plan covers 10 sessions per month at $0. Paid plans as displayed: Sprout $16/month (70 sessions), Bloom $32/month (130 sessions, marked most popular), and Forest $71/month (unlimited), shown in USD with an in-page currency toggle for Canadian-dollar pricing.
Where it falls short: no third-party certification such as SOC 2 is published, and no EHR integrations are listed, so it runs alongside your practice-management system rather than plugging into it.
Best for: private-practice therapists who want a therapy-first scribe with a free plan to trial on real sessions, plus a free public profile to bring new clients in. Canadian clinicians, bilingual or not, get the most complete package here: data stored in Canada, CAD billing, and a full French interface.
2. Upheal: Best Free Plan for Unlimited Notes
Upheal pitches itself as “The most loved AI notes for therapists. Plus everything you need to replace your EHR, when you’re ready.” For Canadians it publishes a Canadian pricing page in C$, PHIPA-localized copy, and a perpetual free plan with unlimited notes.
Where it wins: platform scope. The AI notes cover SOAP, DAP, and intake as the basic types, with GIRP, BIRP, EMDR, PIRP, SIRP, PIE, psychiatry, and more in the full set (the exact free-versus-paid split is not fully published). Beyond notes, Upheal offers telehealth it describes as PHIPA-compliant on its Canadian page, calendar sync, a client portal, invoicing, and newly launched insurance billing. It captures sessions via video, audio, text, or upload, and integrates with Zoom, Google Meet, SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, IntakeQ, and Healthie. Its changelog shows multiple releases in August 2026. Compliance claims are broad: HIPAA, PHIPA and PIPEDA, GDPR, and SOC 2 Type II, “continuously externally tested.” Recordings are deleted by default, and you can opt out of AI model training.
Pricing: $1 USD per session capped at $69/month, mirrored as C$1 capped at C$69 on the Canadian page. That’s a 1:1 numeral swap, not an exchange-rate conversion, which quietly makes Upheal cheaper in CAD terms. A 30-day full trial and money-back guarantee sit on top of the free plan.
Where it falls short: no data-residency location is published, no French support appears on any page, and there is no Loi 25 statement. The C$ page localizes the numbers, not the product.
Best for: therapists who mainly want its free tier or are also shopping for an EHR. Read our full Upheal review for Canadian therapists for the full breakdown.
3. Mentalyc: The Broadest Note-Format Library
Mentalyc publishes the longest list of clinical note formats in this roundup: SOAP, DAP, BIRP, GIRP, SIRP, PIRP, PIE, intake, supervision, narrative, verbatim transcripts, MSE, and biopsychosocial assessments. For American therapists, the line printed on its own homepage, “US-based data residency,” reads as reassurance. For Canadians it is the catch.
Where it wins: capture flexibility and clinical depth. You can record live sessions, upload audio, dictate, or type a summary. The tool drafts treatment plans with SMART goals linked across sessions, tracks symptom and goal progress without questionnaires, and scores therapeutic alliance with its “Alliance Genie.” Compliance claims are extensive: HIPAA, PHIPA, SOC 2 Type 2, plus PIPEDA, PIPA, and PHIA on the homepage. A BAA is available, session audio is “processed and immediately deleted,” and data is never used to train AI models.
Pricing: USD only. Mini $19.99/month (40 notes), Basic $39.99 (100), Pro $69.99 (160), Super $119.99 (330), with annual discounts down to $14.99–$99.99, and a Team plan at $59.99 per seat monthly. No free plan; the trial is 14 days of Pro access with 15 notes, no credit card required.
Where it falls short: US data residency is disqualifying for some Canadian consent processes. There is no CAD pricing, no published French support, and no Loi 25 statement. Note caps also mean a busy caseload climbs tiers quickly.
Best for: format completists and progress-tracking enthusiasts whose privacy analysis can accommodate US storage. See our full Mentalyc review for the section-by-section breakdown.
4. Blueprint: Best Pay-Per-Session Pricing
Blueprint, “the AI Assistant for Therapists,” competes on pricing shape: $0.99 per session used alongside your existing EHR, or $1.49 per session inside Blueprint’s own EHR, with no subscription, no monthly minimum, and session credits that never expire. For a small or irregular caseload, paying only for the sessions you actually hold can undercut a subscription you’d underuse.
Where it wins: breadth of documents and the economics of light use. Beyond progress notes it drafts treatment plans, discharge summaries, after-visit client summaries, and a long list of letters: referral, court, school, termination, accommodation, and medical-necessity. It claims trust from over 70,000 mental health professionals and offers 5 free sessions with a 60-day money-back guarantee. Its compliance claims include HIPAA, PHIPA, SOC 2 Type 2, AES-256 encryption, and automatic audio deletion after transcription.
Pricing: $0.99–$1.49 per session, enterprise custom. The pricing page carries no currency label at all. Presumably that means USD, but a Canadian buyer has to guess.
Where it falls short: no data-residency statement, and for Canadian buyers no French, no Loi 25 statement, and no CAD pricing. It also publishes no list of named note formats (SOAP, DAP, and so on), which every therapy-first competitor here provides. Its changelog ran roughly three months stale (last entry May 26, 2026) while Upheal’s showed multiple releases in August alone. There is more detail in our Blueprint review.
Best for: part-time and low-caseload clinicians who want to pay only for sessions actually held.
5. AutoNotes: Lowest Sticker Price for Unlimited Notes
AutoNotes claims trust from 81,000+ clinicians and carries the lowest displayed subscription price in this roundup: unlimited AI-generated progress notes on both plans, from $29/month, or $8/month as displayed on annual billing. The catch mirrors Blueprint’s. No currency label appears anywhere on its pricing page.
Where it wins: input flexibility and price. You can write or dictate, record live in-person or virtual sessions, upload audio or summaries, or record sessions from other platforms. Formats cover SOAP, DAP, BIRP, GIRP, PIE, and EMDR, plus intakes, treatment plans, discharge summaries, and group, couples, and family notes. Compliance claims: “HIPAA & PHIPA compliance” on every plan, mutually signed BAAs, and encryption in transit and at rest. On recordings, you can delete any of them at any time or have them auto-deleted from the servers immediately after note generation.
Pricing: Economy $29/month, displayed at $8/month on annual billing; First Class $69/month or $58/month annual, marked recommended; enterprise custom. There is no perpetual free plan, just a 7-day trial with no credit card required, and no money-back guarantee stated.
Where it falls short: the Canadian file is thin. No currency label, no CAD pricing, no data-residency statement, no PIPEDA or Loi 25 mention, no SOC 2, no French, and no named EHR integrations.
Best for: clinicians who want unlimited notes at the lowest sticker price and whose privacy review can live with an unstated storage location.
6. Note Designer: Best If You Never Want to Record
Note Designer is the deliberate outlier: a point-and-click note builder marketed as “the leading alternative to AI scribes,” with the tagline “No recordings. No transcripts. No session surveillance.” If recording is off the table for you, your clients, or your consent process, this is the tool built for that position.
Where it wins: the privacy architecture. You assemble notes from 500+ pre-set statements across SOAP, DAP, BIRP, GIRP, SIRP, and PIE formats, plus treatment plans and intake reports, covering 20+ therapy approaches. Notes are stored locally on your device, not in the vendor’s cloud. The optional AI, a private instance of Microsoft Phi-4 on AWS, can rewrite or summarize a note. The vendor states no identifying client information is ever sent and nothing is stored or reused, and a no-AI “Classic” version exists too. It is also the cheapest flat price in the roundup, and a French version of the product is linked from its site.
Pricing: $15/month or $150/year for individuals, and $12/month per clinician for groups of three or more, all labeled “In USD.” A workspace add-on runs +$5/month. No free tier; instead, a 30-day full-refund window.
Where it falls short: it is not a scribe. You build every note by hand, so the time savings of ambient AI documentation never materialize. PHIPA goes unmentioned (PIPEDA and HIPAA are claimed), there is no Loi 25 statement, the AI’s AWS region is unstated, and the scope of the French version is undocumented.
Best for: therapists who refuse session recording on principle and want structured, local-first notes at a flat price. Read our full Note Designer review for what the French version does and doesn’t cover.
How to Choose the Right Therapy Note Tool
Choose by the constraint that actually binds your practice (privacy posture, budget shape, language, or workflow) rather than by the longest feature list. For most therapists that reasoning lands on Klarify; each of the others earns a narrower scenario.
Choose Klarify if you want the strongest overall package: a therapy-first scribe that is fully HIPAA, PHIPA, PIPEDA, Loi 25, and GDPR compliant, stores all data in Canada, captures sessions any way you work (in-person or virtual audio, dictation, handwritten notes, uploaded audio or transcripts), includes custom templates on every plan, goes beyond notes with deeper client insights and clinician reflection, bills in CAD or USD, works fully in French, and gives you a free hosted public profile to attract new clients. Starting free at 10 sessions a month means you can prove it on your own caseload before paying anything.
Choose Upheal if you mainly want its free tier with unlimited notes or you are also shopping for an EHR.
Choose Mentalyc if you want its long list of note formats and built-in progress tracking, and US data residency fits your consent process.
Choose Blueprint if your caseload is small or irregular and $0.99 per session beats any subscription you’d underuse.
Choose AutoNotes if unlimited notes at the lowest sticker price matter more to you than a stated data-residency or PIPEDA posture.
Choose Note Designer if you never want sessions recorded and prefer assembling structured notes locally on your own device.
Whichever you pick: re-read your licensing board’s or college’s record-keeping standard, name the tool and its data flow in your consent forms, and re-check the vendor’s pricing page. Every number here was verified on August 18, 2026 and will drift.
Klarify drafts your progress notes in 20+ formats while you stay with the client. Start free with 10 sessions a month on the Seed plan.
Prefer to start from the format itself? Grab our free DARP note template or the free DAP note template, no email required.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are AI therapy note tools HIPAA compliant?
Klarify is fully HIPAA compliant and signs BAAs on request. The other five tools publish HIPAA compliance claims on their own pages; Upheal, Mentalyc, and Blueprint also claim SOC 2 Type 2, and Mentalyc and AutoNotes state that they sign BAAs. Confirm the BAA before you record anything, and check your documentation obligations, which vary by state and licensing board.
What is the best AI note-taking tool for Canadian therapists?
For most Canadian therapists, Klarify is the strongest overall choice. It is fully PHIPA, PIPEDA, and Quebec Loi 25 compliant, stores all data in Canada, bills in CAD, ships a full French interface with French (Canada) session support, and has a free plan. Upheal publishes a Canadian-dollar pricing page and PHIPA-localized copy, but no data-residency location and no French support.
Are AI therapy note tools PHIPA compliant?
Klarify is fully PHIPA and PIPEDA compliant, and meets HIPAA, Quebec Loi 25, and GDPR as well. Upheal, Mentalyc, Blueprint, and AutoNotes publish PHIPA compliance claims; Note Designer claims HIPAA and PIPEDA but does not mention PHIPA. Under PHIPA, the obligations of a health information custodian stay with you, so review each vendor’s agreements and your consent process before you record anything.
Which AI note tools store data in Canada?
Klarify stores all of its data in Canada; transcripts, session context, and generated notes live in AWS Canada (ca-central-1, Montréal). Mentalyc states US-based data residency on its own homepage. Upheal, Blueprint, and AutoNotes publish no data-residency location. Note Designer takes a different route: notes stay on your own device rather than in the vendor’s cloud.
Do any AI therapy note tools work in French?
Klarify is the only AI-first tool in this roundup with a published French offering: a full French interface, plus Français (Canada) as a supported session and note language on plans that include multi-language sessions. Note Designer links a French version of its product, though its scope is not documented. Upheal, Mentalyc, Blueprint, and AutoNotes publish no French support.
Do AI note tools keep recordings of my sessions?
Generally no, but the details differ. Klarify purges session audio from storage after 14 days and lets you auto-delete audio, transcripts, or entire sessions on a schedule you choose, including immediately. Upheal says all recordings are deleted by default, Mentalyc says session audio is processed and immediately deleted, Blueprint deletes audio automatically after transcription, and AutoNotes lets you delete recordings at any time or auto-delete them right after note generation. Note Designer never records at all.
Can I keep my current EHR, like Jane App or Owl Practice?
Yes. Klarify runs alongside whatever practice-management system you already use, and most AI note tools take the same approach. Upheal lists integrations with SimplePractice, TherapyNotes, IntakeQ, and Healthie. Mentalyc claims it works with every EHR and names Jane App, and Blueprint’s cheaper tier is explicitly priced for use alongside your EHR. If you run your practice on a Canadian platform, see our guides to using Jane App with AI progress notes and Owl Practice pricing, and check each vendor’s integration list against the EHR you actually use before committing.