Moody Abdul, CEO and co-founder of Klarify

Moody Abdul

Owl Practice Pricing Explained (2026, in CAD)

Owl Practice Pricing Explained (2026, in CAD)

Prices verified 18 August 2026.

Owl Practice costs $60 to $100 CAD per month, plus tax, for a solo clinician in Canada. Growth is $60 (up to 20 sessions a month), Advanced is $80 (unlimited sessions), and Professional is $100 (the full feature set). Group practices get custom pricing, students pay $20 a month for six months, and Owl offers a 14-day free trial.

First, some disclosure: we build Klarify, an AI note tool that competes with Owl’s Smart Notes add-on. Every price here comes from Owl’s public pricing page (owlpractice.ca/pricing), verified on 18 August 2026, and promos change fast. One more note on scope: this article covers the Canadian plans at owlpractice.ca, in CAD. Owl prices quoted at $25-$49 USD elsewhere appear nowhere on the Canadian pricing page we verified, so don’t budget from them. If you practice in the US, treat those USD figures as unverified and confirm current US pricing with Owl directly.

How Much Does Owl Practice Cost in 2026?

Owl Practice sells three solo plans: Growth at $60, Advanced at $80, and Professional at $100, all CAD per month plus tax. Group practices get custom-priced Group Plus plans, and students pay $20 a month for the first six months. The only hard usage cap sits on Growth, at 20 sessions a month. Advanced and Professional are unlimited.

Plan

Price (CAD/month + tax)

Session cap

What it adds

Growth

$60

Up to 20 sessions/month

Owl’s base practice-management plan for a small caseload

Advanced

$80

Unlimited

Online booking, “Circle of Care”, customizable intake and consent forms

Professional (most popular)

$100

Unlimited

Sharable video links, secure messaging, couples and family secure conversations, clinical measures, medication tracking

Group Plus / Group Plus Video

Custom

Not specified

Tailored to clinician count and telehealth needs

Student

$20/month for the first 6 months

Not specified

The Professional plan at 80% off

Every price is listed “+ tax,” so add GST/HST (or GST + QST in Quebec) at your province’s rate when you budget.

When we verified, Owl was also running a “60% off for 4 months” promo under a “Subscribe by 8/31” banner. It cuts Growth to $24, Advanced to $32, and Professional to $40. If you’re reading this after that date, assume list prices unless the banner is back.

Two things are free and easy to miss: supervisor logins and administrative-staff accounts cost nothing. If you run supervision or employ admin help, neither occupies a paid seat. Support is advertised seven days a week.

What Does Owl Practice Cost Per Year?

At list prices, a solo clinician pays $720 (Growth), $960 (Advanced), or $1,200 (Professional) CAD per year, plus tax. With the 60%-off-for-4-months promo applied, the first year drops to $576, $768, or $960. Here is the math, month by month.

Plan

First 4 months (promo)

Months 5-12

First year (promo)

First year (list)

Promo saves

Growth

4 × $24 = $96

8 × $60 = $480

$576

$720

$144

Advanced

4 × $32 = $128

8 × $80 = $640

$768

$960

$192

Professional

4 × $40 = $160

8 × $100 = $800

$960

$1,200

$240

All figures CAD, before tax. The student rate works out to 6 × $20 + 6 × $100 = $720 for a first year on Professional features.

For group practices, the per-practitioner math stops at the brochure: Owl does not publish per-clinician rates. Group Plus and Group Plus Video are “custom pricing,” tailored to clinician count and telehealth needs, so the real number comes from a sales conversation. The free supervisor and admin logins lower whatever per-head quote you get.

Does Owl Practice Have a Free Trial or Free Plan?

Owl Practice offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required, but no permanent free plan. The trial comes with full onboarding support, including 1-on-1 onboarding. That’s a genuine strength, since migrating client records is the hard part of switching systems. Students get the $20-a-month rate for six months; after that, standard pricing applies.

What Add-Ons Does Owl Practice Charge For?

The add-on to watch is Smart Notes, Owl’s AI notetaker, and its price is not on the pricing page. Owl markets “Smart Notes,” “AI Therapy Notes,” and an “AI Notetaker” across its site, and at verification it was promoting “60% off 4 months Smart Notes with EHR subscription.” That tells you it costs extra; it does not tell you how much. The Smart Notes feature page returned a 404 when we checked, so the capture method, note formats, consent flow, and standalone price were all unpublished. Ask sales for the current number before you budget for it.

Everything else Owl advertises (video therapy, scheduling, session notes with smart templates, client records, billing and integrated payments, a PHIPA-compliant client portal, secure messaging) is presented as plan features rather than à-la-carte add-ons. The plan table above determines what you get.

How Does Owl Practice Pricing Compare to Jane App?

The two are nearly identical on solo pricing: Owl runs $60/$80/$100 and Jane runs $54/$79/$99, both CAD monthly. Jane is $1 to $6 cheaper at every parallel tier. The real differences sit in the add-ons, the trial, and what each vendor says about where your data lives.

Owl Practice

Jane App

Entry plan

Growth: $60 + tax, up to 20 sessions/month

Balance: CAD $54, up to 20 appointments/month

Unlimited solo

Advanced: $80 + tax

Practice: CAD $79

Top solo tier

Professional: $100 + tax

Thrive: CAD $99

AI notes

Smart Notes add-on, price not published

AI Scribe add-on at $15/month per opted-in practitioner for unlimited notes; 5 free notes/month on every plan

Billing

Billing and integrated payments listed as platform features (insurance-claim submission not specified)

Insurance Billing add-on at $20/month, plus $5 (full-time) or $2.50 (part-time) per additional practitioner

Telehealth

Video therapy is a headline feature; “Sharable Video Links” arrive on Professional; Group Plus Video for groups

Telehealth listed as a feature; Group Telehealth add-on $15/month per opted-in practitioner

Free trial

14 days, no credit card, 1-on-1 onboarding

None (demo account instead), with free data-import and migration support

Data residency

“All data stored in Canada” (their claim)

Not stated on the pricing or home pages we checked

Compliance claims

PIPEDA, provincial compliance, “PHIPA-compliant tools”

HIPAA, PIPEDA, GDPR, SOC 2-audited, 256-bit encryption

French

“Available in English and French”; EN/FR note templates, clinical measures, intake and consent forms

Not mentioned on the pages we checked

Audience

Mental health specifically

All private health practitioners (“more than 240K” across disciplines, per Jane)

Both columns verified 18 August 2026 from each vendor’s public pricing page.

Each has real wins. Owl is built for mental health specifically, makes an explicit Canadian data-storage claim, ships bilingual clinical templates and measures, and backs its trial with actual onboarding. Jane is a little cheaper at every tier, publishes a flat, aggressive AI-notes price, and carries the broader ecosystem: payroll, clinic websites, and direct Canadian insurer integrations (“TELUS eClaims, Teleplan, and Pacific Blue Cross PROVIDERnet”). If AI notes are part of your decision, note the asymmetry. Jane tells you the price today; Owl makes you ask. We cover the Jane side in more depth in using Jane App with AI progress notes.

Where Does AI Note-Taking Fit in Owl’s Pricing?

Owl’s Smart Notes is an add-on you must ask about; a standalone AI-notes tool is the alternative that leaves your practice management untouched.

Klarify, the AI-notes layer we build for therapists in the US and Canada, pairs with Owl rather than replacing it. Owl keeps the schedule, the billing, and the client record. Klarify captures the session however you work: in-person audio, virtual meeting audio, session dictation, handwritten notes, uploaded transcripts, or uploaded audio files. It drafts the note in any of 21 built-in formats (SOAP, DAP, BIRP, EMDR, couples, family, and more) or a custom template, and you paste the finished note into the Owl chart. Uploaded recordings and multi-language sessions are plan-dependent features. There is no direct sync between the two; the hand-off is copy-paste.

On cost, Klarify’s site lists a free Seed plan with 10 sessions a month, then paid plans at $16, $32, and $71 a month for 70, 130, and unlimited sessions. Those prices are shown in USD, and an in-page currency toggle shows Canadian pricing in CAD, so a Canadian practice can compare like for like with Owl’s CAD numbers (verified 18 August 2026). For a group practice, the clinic pricing calculator does the seat math. On compliance, Klarify is fully HIPAA, PHIPA, PIPEDA, Quebec Loi 25, and GDPR compliant, and it never trains on session data. Session audio is deleted after 14 days, with stricter auto-delete settings available. A few Canadian details matter next to Owl: Klarify is itself a Canadian company, all Klarify data is stored in Canada, the interface ships in English and French, and sessions can run in Français (Canada), plus Spanish and Italian, on plans with multi-language support. For how Klarify sits against the dedicated AI-notes field (Upheal, Mentalyc, Blueprint), see the best therapy note-taking tools compared.

Choose Owl on its own if…

  • You want one vendor and one bill, and you are comfortable asking sales what Smart Notes costs.

  • You would rather keep notes and records in one system than copy-paste between two.

  • Your note volume is light enough that AI drafting would not change your week.

Pair Owl with Klarify if…

  • You want to test AI notes free (10 sessions a month on the Seed plan) before committing to any add-on price.

  • You need specific note formats or your own template: 21 built-in formats plus custom templates on every plan, against a Smart Notes format list Owl has not published.

  • You want a stated French (Canada) session language for AI notes, which Owl has not published either way for Smart Notes.

  • You want the session-adjacent extras a practice-management suite is not built around: session prep, mindmaps, client reflection questions, and a free Psychology Today-style public profile hosted on klarify.ca, with built-in marketing features for attracting clients.

Klarify drafts your session notes while you stay with the client. Start free with 10 sessions a month and keep Owl for everything else.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Owl Practice cost per month in Canada?

Owl Practice’s Canadian plans run $60 to $100 CAD per month plus tax for a solo clinician: Growth is $60 with up to 20 sessions a month, Advanced is $80 with unlimited sessions, and Professional is $100 with the full feature set. Group practices get custom pricing and students pay $20 a month for the first six months. Prices verified 18 August 2026.

Does Owl Practice have a free plan?

No. Owl Practice has no permanent free plan. It offers a 14-day free trial with no credit card required and 1-on-1 onboarding support, plus a student rate of $20 CAD a month for the first six months, which works out to 80% off the Professional plan.

Why do some articles say Owl Practice starts at $25 USD?

We could not verify those figures. Nothing at $25 to $49 USD appears on owlpractice.ca’s Canadian pricing page, which lists $60 to $100 CAD per month plus tax. They most likely describe US-market pricing, which we have not verified. A Canadian practice should budget from the CAD numbers at owlpractice.ca, not from USD figures quoted elsewhere. A US practice should confirm current US pricing with Owl directly before budgeting.

How much is Owl Practice’s AI notetaker (Smart Notes)?

Owl does not publish a price for Smart Notes on its pricing page. When we verified on 18 August 2026, Owl was promoting “60% off 4 months Smart Notes with EHR subscription,” which confirms it costs extra but not how much. The feature page itself returned a 404. Ask Owl’s sales team for the current number before budgeting for it.

Is Owl Practice cheaper than Jane App?

No. Jane is slightly cheaper at every parallel tier: CAD $54/$79/$99 against Owl’s $60/$80/$100 plus tax. Owl counters with a 14-day trial, free supervisor and admin logins, and an explicit “all data stored in Canada” claim. On AI notes, Jane publishes its AI Scribe price ($15 a month per opted-in practitioner) while Owl’s Smart Notes price is unpublished.

Does Owl Practice work in French?

Owl advertises the platform as available in English and French, with English and French note templates, clinical measures, and intake and consent forms. Whether the Smart Notes AI notetaker itself works in French is not stated publicly. Klarify, for comparison, supports Français (Canada) as a session language on plans with multi-language support.

Get in Touch

Customer Care
+1 (778) 800 5773
+1 (628) 333 6902

Get in Touch

Customer Care
+1 (778) 800 5773
+1 (628) 333 6902

Get in Touch

Customer Care
+1 (778) 800 5773
+1 (628) 333 6902