
Moody Abdul
Blueprint Review (2026): The AI Assistant for Therapists, Assessed

Prices verified August 18, 2026.
Blueprint (blueprint.ai) is an AI assistant for therapists, priced per session: $0.99 alongside your current EHR, or $1.49 inside its own all-in-one EHR. It advertises a library of 600+ assessments, worksheets, and interventions, and its site publishes specific HIPAA and SOC 2 Type 2 claims. The verdict up front: Klarify is the stronger pick for most clinicians, with full HIPAA, PHIPA, PIPEDA, Quebec Loi 25, and GDPR compliance, all data stored in Canada, 21 published note formats plus custom templates on every plan, deeper client insights and clinician reflection, French support, and flat pricing at a full caseload. Blueprint fits assessment-driven practices and small or irregular caseloads. For US clinicians, its open questions are transparency gaps: no named note formats and no currency label. Canadian clinicians should also notice what its pages never mention: PIPEDA, Loi 25, data residency, CAD pricing, or French.
Everything here comes from Blueprint’s homepage, pricing page, and changelog, fetched August 18, 2026.
Which Blueprint Is This? (Not the Drafting Tool)
This review covers Blueprint at blueprint.ai, clinical software that drafts progress notes, treatment plans, and letters for mental health professionals. It has no connection to blueprint-making, floor-plan, CAD, or construction-drawing tools, nor to the project-management products that share the name. If you searched “blueprint creator” hoping to draw a house plan, nothing below will help. If you’re a therapist evaluating AI documentation tools, all of it will.
The name collision matters because the search results for “blueprint” terms mix both audiences. Blueprint the therapy tool is the one that says “The AI Assistant for Therapists” in its header and claims it is “trusted by over 70,000 mental health professionals.”
What Is Blueprint (blueprint.ai)?
Blueprint is an AI assistant for mental health professionals that you can run two ways: alongside your current EHR for $0.99 per session, or inside Blueprint’s own all-in-one EHR for $1.49 per session. Its pitch spans documentation, clinical support, client communication, billing help, and practice growth. That’s wider than a pure AI scribe, and narrower than a full practice-management suite unless you adopt its EHR tier.
The two deployment modes are the defining design choice. Most competitors pick a lane: Upheal and Mentalyc are scribes that sit beside your EHR; Owl Practice and Jane App are practice-management platforms that added AI notes. Blueprint offers both lanes, and per its pricing page “the AI is the same in both.” The $0.50-per-session difference buys scheduling, intake and forms, telehealth, a client portal, insurance billing, and invoicing.
Blueprint keeps a public changelog. Recent entries include “Import forms from PDFs” (May 26, 2026), “In-Session Chat” (May 21, 2026), “Automated Superbills” (April 23, 2026), and “Notes from text,” which drafts progress notes from typed summaries when there is no audio (April 17, 2026).
What Does Blueprint Actually Do?
Blueprint advertises a broad capability set organized around the therapy workday: notes and discharge summaries, session prep, treatment plans, progress tracking, a large clinical-tool library, many named letter types, and billing help, plus a full EHR layer on its higher tier. Here is the advertised set, grouped:
Area | What Blueprint advertises |
|---|---|
Documentation | Progress notes, discharge summaries, after-visit client summaries, notes from typed summaries when no audio exists |
Clinical support | Session prep, treatment-plan drafting, progress tracking, worksheets; suggested assessments, worksheets, and interventions per client “from a library of 600+ clinical tools”; help interpreting assessment results |
Client communication | Letters (referral, court, school, termination, accommodation, medical-necessity), plus client emails |
Billing & practice | Billing help, unpaid-session follow-up, rescheduling, cost estimates, automated superbills, eligibility-check summaries |
All-in-one EHR tier only | Scheduling, intake & forms, telehealth, client portal, insurance billing, invoices & payments |
One conspicuous gap: Blueprint names no clinical note formats. Its pages list document types (progress notes, treatment plans, letters) but never SOAP, DAP, BIRP, or any named structure. That is unusual for this category. Klarify ships 21 built-in formats plus custom templates on every plan, Upheal publishes its list (SOAP, DAP, GIRP, BIRP, EMDR, PIRP, SIRP, PIE, and more), and Mentalyc publishes a longer list than Upheal’s. Blueprint may well support named formats, since its enterprise tier mentions custom templates, but you can’t verify it from public documentation. Documentation expectations vary by state and licensing board in the US, and by college and insurer in Canada, so ask before you commit.
How Much Does Blueprint Cost?
Blueprint charges per session, not per month: $0.99 per session alongside your EHR, $1.49 per session in its all-in-one EHR, and custom enterprise pricing with annual contracts and volume discounts. There are no subscriptions, no monthly minimums, and session credits never expire. One caution: the pricing page labels no currency, so treat these as USD until confirmed. Pricing verified on August 18, 2026.
Plan | Price | What you get | Free entry point |
|---|---|---|---|
Alongside your EHR (“Plus”) | $0.99 / session | AI documentation, clinical support, billing and insurance help, AI marketing and growth support, client communications | 5 free sessions |
All-in-one EHR (“Pro”) | $1.49 / session | Everything above, plus scheduling, intake & forms, telehealth, client portal, insurance billing, invoices & payments | 30-day free trial, no credit card |
Enterprise | Custom | Custom documentation templates, custom EHR integrations and API access, volume discounts | None listed |
Blueprint also offers a 60-day money-back guarantee; Upheal’s is 30 days.
Per-session pricing is a taxi meter: cheap for short rides, expensive for a full-time commute. There is no cap mentioned anywhere on Blueprint’s pricing page, so the bill scales linearly with your caseload. Here is what a month actually costs across the AI-notes field, using each vendor’s published prices (all USD; Blueprint’s currency presumed USD; verified August 18, 2026):
Monthly sessions | Blueprint (alongside, $0.99/session) | Upheal ($1/session, capped at $69/mo) | Mentalyc (note-capped plans, monthly) | Klarify (plan covering the volume, USD; CAD also published) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
40 | $39.60 | $40 | $19.99 (Mini, 40 notes) | $16 (Sprout, 70 sessions) |
100 | $99.00 | $69 (cap reached) | $39.99 (Basic, 100 notes) | $32 (Bloom, 130 sessions) |
160 | $158.40 | $69 (cap reached) | $69.99 (Pro, 160 notes) | $71 (Forest, unlimited) |
At low volume, Blueprint’s model costs little: a therapist holding 10 sessions a month pays about $9.90. At full caseload it is the most expensive option in the table, roughly $158 per month at 160 sessions, where Upheal’s cap holds at $69, Mentalyc sits at $69.99, and Klarify’s unlimited Forest plan holds flat at $71. The all-in-one EHR tier runs about $149 at 100 sessions, which you should weigh against practice-management platforms with flat pricing.
What Is Blueprint Good At?
On the public record, Blueprint’s strengths are its clinical-tool library, its letter coverage, its low-caseload pricing, and the specific security claims it publishes. The scale claim of being “trusted by over 70,000 mental health professionals” is self-reported.
The assessment and clinical-tool library. Blueprint’s pricing page describes suggested assessments, worksheets, and interventions per client “from a library of 600+ clinical tools,” plus help interpreting assessment results. On the pages we fetched, no rival AI scribe advertises a comparable library. If measurement-informed practice is central to your work, this is the Blueprint feature to evaluate.
Letter coverage is broad. Referral, court, school, termination, accommodation, and medical-necessity letters are all named outputs, alongside discharge summaries and after-visit client summaries. Most rivals stop at referral letters.
Per-session pricing suits small caseloads. No subscription, no monthly minimum, credits that never expire, 5 free sessions to start, and a 60-day money-back guarantee. A part-time practitioner pays only for what they use.
The security claims are specific: “SOC 2 Type 2” with, per Blueprint, “perfect scores every time” for six years, AES-256 encryption in transit and at rest, automatic audio deletion after transcription, and “You own your data.”
Two deployment modes. It runs alongside your current EHR or as its own all-in-one EHR, and per its pricing page the AI is the same in both.
Where Does Blueprint Fall Short?
The weaknesses cluster in three places: transparency gaps (no named note formats, no currency label, no data-residency statement), an uncapped per-session model that punishes full caseloads, and a public changelog that had been silent for almost three months at the time of this review.
No named note formats anywhere public. Covered above, and worth repeating as the single biggest unknown for a documentation tool.
No cap on per-session spend. Upheal charges a comparable per-session rate but caps the month at $69. Blueprint’s pages mention no cap, so a 160-session month costs ~$158 on the cheaper tier.
There is no perpetual free plan. The 5 free sessions and 30-day EHR trial are trial mechanics, not a free tier. Klarify’s Seed plan is free at 10 sessions per month, ongoing; Upheal also has a free plan.
No currency label on pricing. US buyers can reasonably presume USD, but the page never says so. For anyone billing in CAD, an unlabeled “$0.99” means you assume USD and absorb the exchange rate on every session.
The changelog has gone quiet. As of August 18, 2026, Blueprint’s most recent public entry was May 26, 2026. That is nearly three months of silence, over a window in which Upheal posted four changelog entries between July 29 and August 14 alone. It doesn’t prove Blueprint stopped shipping; it means you can’t tell from the outside.
Nothing for Canada beyond a badge. More on that in the Canadian section below.
Is Blueprint a Good Fit for US Therapists?
On the public record, it is a workable fit, with two caveats. Blueprint’s compliance posture is stated in US terms: HIPAA, SOC 2 Type 2 with, per Blueprint, “perfect scores every time” for six years, AES-256 encryption in transit and at rest, and automatic audio deletion after transcription. Its newest billing features, automated superbills and eligibility-check summaries, are US-shaped additions. Per-session pricing in presumed USD means no exchange-rate math for US buyers.
The caveats are the ones covered above. Blueprint names no clinical note formats on its public pages, and documentation expectations vary by state and licensing board, so confirm your required structure before you commit. And there is no cap on per-session spend, which matters at a full caseload. Klarify serves US clinicians as well: fully HIPAA compliant, 21 published note formats, custom templates on every plan, and flat monthly pricing in USD that holds at $71 for unlimited sessions.
Is Blueprint a Good Fit for Canadian Therapists?
Now the Canadian angle. The answer is partially. Blueprint displays a “PHIPA Compliant” badge, which matters for Ontario practitioners. But that badge is the entirety of its visible Canadian posture. Its public pages say nothing about PIPEDA, Quebec’s Loi 25, where client data is stored, CAD pricing, French, or Canadian practice-management platforms. Every one of those becomes a question you must ask its sales team yourself.
Canadian consideration | What Blueprint’s public pages say (fetched 2026-08-18) | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|
PHIPA (Ontario) | “PHIPA Compliant” badge | Positive signal for Ontario health information custodians; ask for the details behind the badge |
PIPEDA (federal) | Not mentioned | Klarify is PIPEDA compliant, and Upheal, Mentalyc, and Owl state PIPEDA claims; Blueprint says nothing |
Loi 25 (Quebec) | Not mentioned | Quebec practitioners must do their own diligence on consent, residency, and privacy-impact obligations; Klarify is Loi 25 compliant |
Data residency | Not stated | You cannot tell where audio, transcripts, or notes live. Klarify stores all data in Canada, always; Owl Practice states “All data stored in Canada”; Mentalyc is openly US-based |
CAD pricing | None; currency unlabeled | Expect USD billing and FX drift on a per-session meter; Klarify publishes CAD prices via an in-page currency toggle |
French | Not mentioned anywhere fetched | No visible support for francophone sessions, notes, or UI |
Canadian EHRs (Jane, Owl) | No integrations named; custom EHR integrations are enterprise-only | If your practice runs on Jane App or Owl Practice, ask what “alongside your EHR” means in practice (see our guide to using Jane App with AI progress notes) |
To be fair to Blueprint: these blind spots are common across the AI-scribe field, and at least Blueprint claims PHIPA. But if you practice in Quebec, bill in CAD, or run sessions in French, the public record gives you nothing to rely on. For a field-wide view, see our comparison of the best therapy note-taking tools and our Upheal review.
Blueprint vs Klarify: How Do They Compare?
Klarify, an AI assistant for therapists built in Canada and serving US and Canadian clinicians, is the stronger pick where a documentation tool lives or dies. It ships 21 named note formats plus custom templates on every plan, captures sessions six ways (in-person audio, virtual meeting audio, dictation, handwritten notes, uploaded transcripts, uploaded audio), and runs sessions in French and other languages. It also goes beyond notes: after each session it generates session context, visual mindmaps of client themes, and reflection prompts for the clinician, so it supports the thinking around a session as well as the paperwork. It is fully HIPAA, PHIPA, PIPEDA, Quebec Loi 25, and GDPR compliant, all data is stored in Canada, always, and at a full caseload it costs far less. Every therapist also gets a free Psychology Today-style public profile hosted on klarify.ca, with built-in marketing features for attracting clients, something no rival scribe offers. Blueprint covers more surface: letters, billing help, an optional EHR, and the 600+ tool library.
| Blueprint | Klarify |
|---|---|---|
Pricing model | Per session: $0.99-$1.49, currency unlabeled (presumed USD) | Monthly plans: $0 / $16 / $32 / $71 USD, with CAD prices via an in-page currency toggle |
Free option | 5 free sessions or a 30-day EHR trial; no ongoing free plan | Seed plan: free, 10 sessions per month, ongoing |
Named note formats | None published | 21 built-in (SOAP, DAP, BIRP, GIRP, PIE, CBT, ACT, EMDR, EFT, Gottman, IFS, narrative, couple, family, group, and more), plus custom templates on every plan |
Assessment / clinical-tool library | 600+ assessments, worksheets, and interventions | No equivalent library; Klarify instead generates session context, visual mindmaps of client themes, client reflection questions, and clinician reflection prompts after each session |
Languages | Not mentioned | Sessions and notes in English, French (Canada), Spanish, and Italian on eligible plans; UI in English and French |
Compliance | HIPAA, PHIPA, SOC 2 Type 2, AES-256 (per its site) | Fully HIPAA, PHIPA, PIPEDA, Quebec Loi 25, and GDPR compliant; built and secured in Canada |
Data residency | Not stated | All data stored in Canada, always |
Audio retention | Audio permanently deleted after transcription (their claim) | Audio purged from storage after 14 days; configurable auto-delete down to immediate, for audio, transcripts, or whole sessions |
Practice management / EHR | Optional all-in-one EHR: scheduling, telehealth, client portal, billing | None. Klarify is a documentation assistant, not an EHR |
Capture inputs | Sessions; notes from typed summaries | In-person audio, virtual meeting audio, dictation, handwritten notes, uploaded transcripts (up to 300,000 characters), uploaded audio (up to 5 GB); live recording up to 3 hours |
Practice marketing | AI marketing and growth support (advertised) | Free Psychology Today-style public profile hosted on klarify.ca, with built-in marketing features for attracting clients |
Two Blueprint facts to note. It publishes a SOC 2 Type 2 claim, which Klarify does not match with an equivalent certification. And its automatic audio deletion after transcription is faster than Klarify’s 14-day default purge, though Klarify can be set to delete audio immediately.
Should You Choose Blueprint or Klarify?
Choose Klarify if…
Compliance needs to be settled, not investigated. Klarify is fully HIPAA, PHIPA, PIPEDA, Quebec Loi 25, and GDPR compliant, and all data is stored in Canada, always. With Blueprint, everything past HIPAA and a PHIPA badge is a question for its sales team.
You need named, verifiable note formats. SOAP, DAP, BIRP, EMDR, EFT, Gottman, and 15 more are published and checkable before you sign up, and custom templates come with every plan.
You want insight as well as notes. After each session, Klarify generates session context, visual mindmaps of client themes, and reflection prompts for the clinician.
Your sessions arrive in more than one shape. In-person audio, virtual meeting audio, dictation, handwritten notes, uploaded transcripts, and uploaded audio all turn into notes.
You run sessions in French. Klarify supports French (Canada) session capture and notes on eligible plans and ships a fully French interface; Blueprint’s pages never mention French.
You carry a full caseload and want a predictable monthly price: $32-$71 per month, in USD or CAD via the pricing page’s currency toggle, instead of ~$99-$158 on a per-session meter.
You want help attracting clients as well as documenting them. Every Klarify therapist gets a free Psychology Today-style public profile hosted on klarify.ca, with built-in marketing features; Blueprint has nothing equivalent.
You want a real free plan, meaning 10 sessions a month, ongoing, not a trial.
Choose Blueprint if…
Assessments drive your practice. Blueprint advertises a library of 600+ clinical tools with per-client suggestions and help interpreting results.
Your caseload is small or irregular. Per-session pricing with credits that never expire means you pay only for the sessions you hold; there are 5 free sessions and a 60-day money-back guarantee.
You write a lot of letters: court, school, accommodation, and medical-necessity letters are all named outputs.
You want its optional all-in-one EHR tier at $1.49 per session, which adds scheduling, intake and forms, telehealth, a client portal, and insurance billing.
You bill US insurance. Automated superbills and eligibility-check summaries are recent, US-shaped additions.
If what you actually need is practice management first and AI notes second, neither tool is the answer. Look at Owl Practice or Jane App, and see our guide to using Jane App with AI progress notes.
Klarify drafts your SOAP, DAP, and 19 other note formats while you stay with the client, in English or, on eligible plans, in French. The Seed plan is free, with 10 sessions a month and no meter running.
Try Klarify free: 10 sessions a month on the Seed plan
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Blueprint the same as blueprint-making or construction software?
No. Blueprint (blueprint.ai) is an AI assistant for mental health professionals. It drafts progress notes, treatment plans, and clinical letters, and has no connection to floor-plan creators, CAD drafting tools, construction-document software, or the project-management products that share the name.
How much does Blueprint AI cost?
Blueprint charges per session: $0.99 to use it alongside your current EHR, or $1.49 inside its own all-in-one EHR, with custom enterprise pricing above that (verified August 18, 2026). There are no subscriptions or monthly minimums, and session credits never expire. The pricing page does not label a currency; treat the figures as USD until Blueprint confirms otherwise.
Does Blueprint have a free plan?
No perpetual free plan. Blueprint offers 5 free sessions on its alongside-your-EHR option and a 30-day free trial of its all-in-one EHR, with no credit card required, plus a 60-day money-back guarantee. If you want an ongoing free tier, Klarify’s Seed plan includes 10 sessions per month at $0, and Upheal also keeps a free plan.
Is Blueprint HIPAA compliant?
Blueprint’s site claims HIPAA compliance and SOC 2 Type 2 with, per Blueprint, “perfect scores every time” for six years, plus AES-256 encryption and automatic audio deletion after transcription. These are the vendor’s own statements, which we have not audited. Ask Blueprint to confirm the details, including whether it signs a business associate agreement, before you commit.
Is Blueprint PHIPA compliant?
Blueprint’s site displays a “PHIPA Compliant” badge alongside HIPAA and SOC 2 Type 2 claims, with AES-256 encryption and automatic audio deletion after transcription. Its public pages do not mention PIPEDA, Quebec’s Loi 25, or where client data is stored. Canadian clinicians should ask Blueprint directly about data residency and provincial obligations before signing up. Klarify, for comparison, is fully HIPAA, PHIPA, PIPEDA, Quebec Loi 25, and GDPR compliant and stores all data in Canada, always.
Does Blueprint support SOAP or DAP note formats?
Unknown from its public pages. Blueprint lists document types (progress notes, treatment plans, discharge summaries, letters) but names no clinical note formats such as SOAP, DAP, or BIRP anywhere we could find. If your licensing board, college, clinic, or insurer expects a specific structure, confirm with Blueprint’s team before committing. Klarify publishes its list of 21 built-in formats plus custom templates on every plan; Upheal and Mentalyc also publish their format lists.
Does Blueprint work in French?
Nothing on the Blueprint pages we fetched (homepage, pricing, changelog) mentions French or any language support. Confirm directly before relying on it for francophone clients. If French sessions are a requirement, Klarify supports French (Canada) session capture and notes on eligible plans and ships a fully French interface.
Sources. Blueprint homepage, Blueprint pricing, and Blueprint changelog, fetched August 18, 2026 · Upheal pricing and Mentalyc pricing, fetched August 18, 2026 · Klarify, August 18, 2026. Prices and promotions change; re-verify before relying on any figure here.